Earth and Environmental Sciences Department Alumni Advisory Board

(Amy Sullivan recording for EES Secretary, Ben Howard)

Meeting Minutes

April 5, 2024

135 Trowbridge Hall and via Zoom

Attending in Person (*Board Members): Mike Burkhart, David Peate, Melissa Evans*, Emily Finzel, Travis Foss, Kate Tierney

Attending via Zoom: Richard Denne*, Jim Eagan*, Luan Heywood*, Brian Hartman*, Liz Maas*, Lee Phillips*, Todd Ririe*, Noah Stern*, Tim Stroope*, Amy Sullivan*, Aaron Suzuki*

Members Not in Attendance: Ben Howard*

Lee Phillips called meeting to order at 10:05 Central Daylight Savings Time.

Action Item Summary:

- October 2023 Minutes were not reviewed nor approved as Ben Howard, Secretary, was not present.
- EESB Fall Meeting, Friday October 25th SAVE THE DATE 150th ANNIVERSARY of the EES and the Triennial Meeting. Homecoming Saturday, October 26th Hawks versus Northwestern.
- Alumni Website page will be updated with three new board members for the Fall 2024 meeting.
- Lee Phillips will send out an "online" vote for the 2024 Distinguished Alumni Award.
- Brian Hartman, Chair Alumni Outreach Set up working sessions for Fall EESB meeting and celebrations. Various action items have been identified to be followed up on.
- Ali Geraets, Academic and Office Coordinator, is the link for establishing mentor-mentee ties. Kate Tierney will see that a reminder is placed in the weekly EES newsletter.
- Lee Phillips recommended an ad hoc committee should be established at the Fall 2024 meeting for "bylaws restoration", as the current bylaws date to July 2020.
- Fall 2024 meeting will need to establish new Nominating Committee and Mentoring Committee Chairs. Current board members are encouraged to volunteer!

Department Update

David Peate, DEO provided following:

- 1) Currently there are 68 geology undergraduate majors, which is the highest for many years, and this is bucking a national trend in undergraduate geology majors.
- 2) Offsite storage facility is again moving forward after confusion about the status of the building. Jonathan and Tiffany Adrain are getting the collections moved, including use of a NFS collections grant. Items that have been stored with the engineering department are now included in the move. Internet access will be available at the location for use by those working on the collections. Many students have been supporting the collection move.
- 3) A feasibility study has been approved to potentially refurbish an open space on the third floor of Trowbridge.

- 4) David's DEO 5-year tenure was to terminate in July, but Dean Sanders has asked him to continue to serve the department for another year in leadership, and then transition to Emily Finzel as the next DEO.
- 5) Emily Finzel and Brad Cramer have been promoted from Associate Professor to Professor.
- 6) Kate Tierney has been promoted to Associate Professor of Instruction. She also received the Distinguished Associate Professor Award.

Dean Sara Sanders Update

Dean Sanders visited with the board on recent events in CLAS. Accompanying her were Cornelia Lang, Associate Dean for Undergraduate Education and Ben Hill, Senior Director of UI CLAS Marketing and Communications. The board always appreciates Dean Sanders visits and willingness to discuss current topics candidly. Thank you CLAS leadership for spending time with EESB.

EESB "Call to Board Service" and Member Update

Liz Maas, Nominating Committee Chair and Lee Philips, EESB Chair

Three nominations for the Board were reviewed and approved. Michael Burkart (PhD with Dick Baker) will return to EESB after serving a term from 2014-2017. Mike is a retired hydrogeologist and research leader with the National Laboratory for Agriculture and the Environment. Katie Goff joins EESB (BS and MS working with Mark Reagan and Art Bettis respectively), is a registered geologist with the state of Missouri and is and Environmental Scientist for Impact 7G, a Des Moines based environmental consulting firm. Eric Small joins EESB from his current role at the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency in Chicago as a Clean Water Act inspector. Eric has a BA in Geoscience and Environmental Policy and Planning from UI. Look for their bios at the EESB Alumni website listing!

Board members who will be leaving the board in Fall 2024 include Richard Denne (a 2-term veteran), Liz Maas (Nominating Committee Chair and 2-term veteran), and Todd Ririe (Mentoring Committee Chair and 2-term veteran). Aaron Suzuki has agreed to remain on the board for a second three-year term. Jim Eagan will finish a three-year term. Lee Phillips will continue as Past-Chair for continuity with Melissa Evans becoming the EESB Chair.

Alumni Outreach

Brian Hartman, Alumni Outreach Chair

Brian turned over to Amy Sullivan for a recap of the 2024 Distinguished Alumni Award Nominees. Highlights for each nominee were mentioned. Lee Phillips will send out an email for voting. Nominee will be notified later in April and invited to attend Homecoming and give the Friday Departmental Seminar.

150th Year Anniversary Celebration Fall 2024 - Brian will organize additional meetings to organize the events for the both the 150th anniversary of the Earth and Environmental Department and the Triennial Events. Todd Ririe, Amy Sullivan and Kate Tierney will work with Brian on the event details. Included will be the annual student poster session, the Distinguished Alumni Award seminar, a mixer after the

seminar, a Saturday field trip, in addition to potential tail gate options, football tickets, hotel rooms, "swag", etc. More to come!! Save the Date!! Friday October 25th EESB Meeting, Saturday Oct. 26 UI versus Northwestern.

Fundraising

Noah Stern, Fundraising Chair

Noah discussed the urgency to create another (the second) thank you video for "One Day for Iowa". Noah also urged the focus to support students in all fund raising efforts and strategy.

Travis Foss, UI Center for Advancement Director for Development for CLAS, did a recap of the "Together Hawkeyes" campaign and the 2024 YTD fund raising for EES. YTD 2024 has approximately \$152,000 in outright pledges and \$224,000 in deferred gifts for an approximate total of \$3675,000. Total planned gifts are approximately \$3.4 million. The "Together Hawkeyes" campaign is running from 7/1/2019 to 12/31/2027. The University as a whole has reached \$1.68B to date (63.2% of goal). CLAS has reached \$157.9 of \$250 million goal (63.2%).

Mentoring Committee

Todd Ririe, Chair

Todd encouraged the board to consider how to support mentoring students going forward considering the strong demand from GSS. He reminded the board that Ali Geraets, Academic and Office Coordinator, is the link for establishing mentor-mentee ties. Kate Tierney will see that a reminder is placed in the weekly EES newsletter.

Several board members indicated that students frequently do not remain engaged in mentoring process. Nevertheless, all board members strongly indicated they are willing to be mentors. All recognized junior and senior and graduate students are the best suited for the mentor-mentee relationship as they are at the point of recognizing their specific post-graduation career needs.

Meeting adjourned at 1:05 Central Daylight Savings Time.